Date: January 18th, 2018

Nominations Invited for 2018 Crawford County Leadership Awards

Nominations are invited for the 8th Annual Crawford County Leadership Awards. Sponsored by the Crawford County Community Fund, the program recognizes individuals, organizations or businesses that have helped make Crawford County a better place to live, work and play. Anyone may make a nomination; self-nominations are welcome.

2017 Crawford County Community Fund Leadership Award Recipients
Front row – left to right: Camille Smith, CCCF Chair, Peggy Gallagher (Community Leadership & Service), Bonnie Young (Community Leadership & Service), Sharon Murphy, Past Chair CCCF Advisory Board. Back row – left to right: Stephen Ronnfeldt (Outstanding Youth Leadership), Keefe Keeley, president of Community Conservation representing Dr. Robert Horwich (deceased) (Above and Beyond), Aaron Brin, representing Harriet Behar (Educational Leadership), Eric Frydenlund and Rick Kettner representing Driftless Wisconsin (Tourism)

In speaking of the program, Camille Smith, CCCF advisory board chair noted, “Since we initiated this program in 2011, 44 individuals, businesses and/or organizations have been recognized. This past spring we heard about the investments of time and talent in our county and its people made by Dr. Robert Horwich, Harriet Behar, Bonnie Young, Peggy Gallagher, Stephen Ronnfeldt and through Driftless Wisconsin. We know that there are many more in our communities who work on behalf of all of us, expecting no recognition. We urge you to take time to make a nomination so that we can highlight all the good that is happening around us.”

Nominees are being sought in the following categories:

• Community Leadership and Service. Nominees for this award may be an individual, business or organization that has demonstrated a commitment to the Crawford County area through public service that enhances the economic, cultural or social well-being of their community.
• Tourism Award. This award is presented to an individual, business or organization that has demonstrated a commitment to the enhancement of Crawford County through tourism development and promotion.
• Outstanding Youth Leadership. This award is designed to recognize a young person, age 13 to 22, living in Crawford County who has demonstrated outstanding leadership with the potential for positive environmental, economic and/or social impact.
• Above and Beyond Award. As is suggested in the category name, this award recognizes an individual, business or organization that has demonstrated “out of the box” thinking/activity that promotes regionalism, cooperation among communities or organizations, creative strategies or innovative approaches to long-term problems, or diversity awareness.
• Business Development Award. Awardee may be an individual, business or organization that has demonstrated a spirit of community involvement focused on the improvement of business and economic development in Crawford County.
• Educational Leadership Award. Awardee may be an individual (teacher and/or administrator), business, or organization who has designed a specific project and/or educational initiative that has demonstrated a commitment to the Crawford County area in support of furthering excellence in education or fostering strong school/community relationships.

There are a variety of ways to submit nominations. An online form can be completed and submitted. You may also print, complete and either email or mail the nomination form. Please see ( Additionally, nomination forms are available at the public libraries in the county, from Crawford County Community Fund advisory board members or by emailing [email protected] Completed nominations may be mailed to CCCF Leadership Awards, PO Box 13, Seneca WI 54654 or scanned and emailed to [email protected] The deadline for receipt of nominations is Friday, March 2, 2018. Photos and information about past recipients is available at

The Crawford County Community Fund is a component of the Community Foundation of Southern Wisconsin, a 501(c)(3) charitable organization. For questions and/or further information about the Fund and the Leadership Awards program, contact Camille Smith ([email protected]) or CFSW Donor Services Rep Barb Daus ([email protected] or 608-778-3344). You can also learn more online by simply googling Crawford County Community Fund.