Date: January 9th, 2018

Lancaster Community Fund Presents Charles “Sonny” Tiedemann Charitable Fund Grants to Six Projects

The Lancaster Community Fund advisory board welcomed representatives for six outstanding projects as well as a number of former LCF advisory board members and donors to its December 20 grant presentation event.

Fall 2017 Lancaster Community Fund grantees – all awards, totaling $20,980, from the Charles “Sonny” Tiedemann Charitable Fund. Left to right. Josh Jensen, St Clement School; Sarah Williams, Winskill Elementary; Dana Straka and Pastor Mark Hoehne, First Presbyterian Church Mission Trip; Kristin Holman-Steffel, Lancaster Library Foundation.
Standing: Missy Kliebenstein, Angie Cohen and Sandy Leibfried, Grant Regional; Courtney Gundlach, Mayor Dave Varnam, and Dave Carlson, City of Lancaster Recreation Program.

Prior to announcing the recipients, advisory board chair Joe Krantz recognized the service of several ‘local leaders in philanthropy’ including

• Tabitha Jackering who served her maximum 6 years on the advisory board including 5 years as vice chair;
• David Helmke, who led the organization as chair for the past 2 years;
• Amara Hoffman, who has recently been elected to the board
• Megan Slane, who is the editor/producer of the annual update and solicitation letter
• Rod Roggensack, for his tireless service as historian; and
• Ken Klaas for his past service to the LCF board and his current service as chair of the Community Foundation of Southern Wisconsin board.

Krantz noted the service of Richard Mack and Angie Gruetzmacher as community representatives to the grant review committee. He followed with the presentation of grants as follows:

• $800 to the City of Lancaster Summer Recreation Program to be used to purchase equipment for expanding the program to include a multi-age Saturday morning option;
• $1500 to Grant Regional Health Center to purchase presentation equipment for the Education/Wellness Center;
• $2280 to the Lancaster Public Library Foundation to purchase STEAM (science, technology, engineering, art and math) program materials for students age kindergarten through grade 12;
• $3000 to First Presbyterian Church in support of the high school mission trip;
• $6350 to St Clement School in support of the purchase of classroom touch panels; and
• $7050 to Winskill Elementary in support of the “Let’s Get Rolling Safely” program and specifically for the purchase of inline skating equipment.

At the conclusion of the event Krantz noted, “With these grants (our first was given in 2000), the Lancaster Community Fund has been privileged to award 177 grants totaling nearly $390,000. What an investment in this community! Our work is truly For Good. For Ever. For Lancaster!

The Lancaster Community Fund is a component of the Community Foundation of Southern Wisconsin, Inc., a tax-exempt public charity. It is governed by a local advisory board that includes Joe Krantz, chair; David Helmke, Amara Hoffman, Sam Jonas, LuAnne Pink, Crysti Prange, Kevin Raisbeck, Megan Slane and Bette Steinbrenner. For more information, contact Joe Krantz, advisory board chair; Kevin Raisbeck, advisory board vice chair; or Barb Daus, donor services representative with the Community Foundation of Southern Wisconsin (608-778-3344 or [email protected]). For further information about the Community Foundation of Southern Wisconsin, visit