Date: June 12th, 2017

Iowa-Grant Educational Foundation Awards 14 Scholarships

Fourteen Class of 2017 Iowa-Grant graduates were recently presented certificates and scholarship awards totaling just over $19,000.

Those receiving scholarships and their post-secondary education plans follow:

Ronald Allen: studying Biblical Exposition & Exogesis at Emmaus Bible College
Charles Christianson: studying Computer Science at UW-La Crosse
Gerrit Hunt: studying Physiology at University of Minnesota – Twin Cities
Maranda McCarthy: studying Agribusiness at UW-River Falls
William McLeer: studying Mathematics at Augsburg College
Erik Raimer: studying Business at UW-Madison
Charles Richards: studying Agribusiness at UW-Platteville
Jaynie Rule: studying Agribusiness/Journalism at UW-Platteville
Sawyer Sarbacker: studying Human Performance at UW-La Crosse
Kassidy Schroeder: studying Elementary Education at UW-Platteville
Payton Simon: studying Accounting at UW-Madison
Hannah Stevens: studying Accounting at Madison College
Chad Thomas: studying Environmental Science at Vermillion Community College
Elana Winders: studying Engineering at UW-Platteville

Two scholarships were presented for the first time. These included the Austin Cook Memorial Scholarship, honoring Austin Cook, a 2010 IG graduate who passed away in 2016 and the Garry Crull Scholarship, recognizing Coach Crull who served as head football coach for 19 years and is the namesake of Coach Crull Field.

In commenting on the scholarship presentations IGEF board chair Paulette Divall said, “Without the support of our many donors these scholarships would not be possible. We are particularly grateful for the endowed scholarships that have been established by families and through bequests. These legacy scholarships will be given for ever.”

The Iowa-Grant Educational Foundation, a component of the Community Foundation of Southern Wisconsin, was established in 2000. Its mission is to build an endowment that provides private resources for the support of the Iowa-Grant School District. The Foundation’s work includes providing scholarships to graduating seniors and making grants in support of innovative and creative educational programming that is beyond the boundaries of the Iowa-Grant School District budget. For more information or to make a donation to the Foundation contact IGEF advisory board chair Paulette Divall ([email protected]) or CFSW Donor Services Representative Barb Daus ([email protected] or 608-778-3344). Donations may be sent to the Iowa-Grant Educational Foundation, PO Box 124, Livingston, WI 53554 or can be made online at

Recipients of 2017 Iowa-Grant Educational Foundation Scholarships

Front row – left to right:
Sawyer Sarbacker (Austin Cook Memorial Scholarship), Charles Richards (Millard “Mick” Gundlach Ag Scholarship and Glen & Connie Gard Family Scholarship), Payton Simon (IGEF Scholarship In Honor of Garry Crull), William McLeer (Thomas and Mary Jane Limmex Scholarship), Gerrit Hunt (Connie Munson Memorial Scholarship and Mae E Austin Memorial Scholarship)

Middle row – left to right
Erik Raimer (Dr. Dennis and Marilyn Carr Scholarship), Chad Thomas (James E. Schroeder Memorial Scholarship), Hannah Stevens (J. Bruce and Margaret L. Bradley Memorial Scholarship), Kassidy Schroeder (Phil Helgeson Memorial Scholarship)

Back row – left to right
Elana Winders (Tanner Merwin Memorial Scholarship), Charles Christianson (Christianson Family Scholarship), Ronald Allen (Robert & Martha Klindt Memorial Scholarship), Maranda McCarthy (James E Schroeder Memorial Scholarship), Jaynie Rule (Robert Graber Scholarship, Dorothy Lepeska Memorial Scholarship, and Platteville Consumers Cooperative Scholarship)