Date: January 9th, 2018

Grants Awarded by Crawford County Community Fund

The Crawford County Community Fund presented its 2017 grants at the December meeting of the Crawford County Board of Supervisors. This is the 9th year that grants have been presented from the earnings of the Fund. The endowment was established in 2008 when an anonymous donor challenged Crawford County residents to match a $25,000 donation. As of the end of November, the endowment exceeded $125,000 with grant awards for the 9-year period exceeding $34,000.

The 2017 grants include:

2017 Crawford County Community Fund grant recipients. Left to right – Representing the Ferryville Farmer’s Market: Sherry Quamme (standing), Bob Jelinek, Marsha Stross and Theresa Yaeger (seated) and Jeanne Rutter (standing); representing the School District of North Crawford Music Department: Holly Roth Jones; representing the Mississippi Valley Conservancy: Rick Lange and Jim Czajkowski

• $1000 to the Mississippi Valley Conservancy to support a new event at Kickapoo Caverns, Wauzeka – the Family Bat Fest;
• $1600 to the School District of North Crawford Music Department for the purchase of instruments, to be kept by the school, and to be used by students who would not otherwise be able to participate in band; and
• $1000 to the Ferryville Farmers Market in support of Project “Moving Forward”, which is designed to increase both the number of vendors offering fresh produce and the number of quality craft vendors participating in the Ferryville Market.

Camille Smith, chair of the Crawford County Community Fund advisory board, presented the awards and made a special presentation to Dr. Sharon Murphy who completed her maximum 6 years of service in December. Murphy joined the board in 2012 and was immediately elected vice chair. For the past 4 years, she has served as chair. Under her leadership, the CCCF expanded its leadership recognition program, improved and expanded the Crawford Markets Care program and increased its visibility across the county.

Additionally, Smith recognized fellow board members Chad Abram, Craig Anderson, Lori Bekkum, Pete Flesch, Joe Friar, Roni Gundlach, Michael Higgins, Bob Van Hoesen and ex-officio Will Cronin, from the County Extension Office for their ongoing commitment to Fund noting, “This Fund is BY US (meaning our donations are increasing the endowment) and FOR US, as evidenced it today’s grant awards. It’s truly a win-win for Crawford County and its residents.”

The Crawford County Community Fund is a component of the Community Foundation of Southern Wisconsin, a 501(c)(3) charitable organization. Its primary projects include the grants program, a leadership recognition program and sponsorship of the Crawford Markets Care program. The Community Foundation of Southern Wisconsin works with charitable donors in nine counties in southern Wisconsin. Donations to the Crawford County Community Fund are accepted to PO Box 13, Seneca WI 54654 or online at For further information, contact Camille Smith ([email protected]) or CFSW Donor Services Rep Barb Daus ([email protected] or 608-778-3344).