Date: January 26th, 2014

Crawford County CF Seeks 2014 Leadership Nominees

crawford-county-community-fund-logoNominations are requested for the 4th Annual Crawford County Leadership Awards.  Sponsored by the Crawford County Community Fund, the program recognizes individuals, organizations or businesses that have helped make Crawford County a better place to live.  Anyone may make a nomination; self-nominations are welcome.  The awards will be presented at a special reception scheduled for Thursday, April 24, 2014 at 6:30pm at Century Hall in Wauzeka.

Nominees are being sought in the following categories:

  • Community Leadership and Service.  Nominees for this award may be an individual, business or organization that has demonstrated a commitment to the Crawford County area through public service that enhances the economic, cultural or social well-being of their community.
  • Tourism Award.  This award is presented to an individual, business or organization that has demonstrated a commitment to the enhancement of Crawford County through tourism development and promotion.
  • Outstanding Youth Leadership.  This award is designed to recognize a young person, age 13 to 22, living in Crawford County who has shown outstanding leadership on a project or campaign with positive environmental, economic and social impact.
  • Above and Beyond Award.  As is suggested in the category name, this award recognizes an individual, business or organization that has demonstrated “out of the box” thinking that promotes regionalism, cooperation among communities or organizations, creative strategies or innovative approaches to long-term problems, or diversity awareness.
  • Business Development Award.  for an individual, business or organization that has demonstrated a spirit of community involvement toward the improvement of business and economic development in Crawford County.

Nomination materials are available online on the Crawford County Community Fund website page and at the public libraries in Crawford County.  The deadline for nominations is Wednesday, March 19, 2014.  Nomination materials should be sent to CCCF, PO Box 13, Seneca WI 54654.

Past awardees by category are

  • Community Leadership and Service – Ritch Stevenson, Karen Sjoberg, the Eagles Club of Prairie du Chien, the Prairie du Chien Jaycees, and the Wauzeka American Legion & Auxiliary
  • Tourism – Jerry & Liz Quebe, the Prairie du Chien Area Chamber of Commerce, Tom Nelson, and the Ferryville Tourism Council
  • Outstanding Youth Leadership – Sara Achenbach, Mackenzie Knutson, Brandilyn Kochera, and Mattias Dworschack
  • Above and Beyond – Peter  Knapik, the Rotary Club of Prairie du Chien for projects completed by Joe Ruskey, Cheryl Mader and Lara Czajkowski-Higgins, and Bob & Diane Witt
  • Business Development – Mickie Rasch, Ron Leys, and Royal Bank – Gays Mills and its manager Rick Busch.

For questions and/or further information about the Fund and the Leadership Awards program, contact Eric Frydenlund at (608) 326-6658.  You can also learn more online at