Date: April 6th, 2017

Crawford County Community Fund Announces 2017 Leadership Award Recipients

Six awards will be presented at the 7th Annual Crawford County Leadership Awards program, hosted by the Crawford County Community Fund.   The event, honoring the awardees, will be held on Thursday, April 20, 2017, in Prairie du Chien at Crossing Rivers Health Center.  It will begin with an hors d’oeuvres and dessert reception at 6 p.m. followed by the program at 6:30 p.m.  The public is encouraged to attend but must RSVP by Friday, April 14, 2017 to Sharon Murphy, Crawford County Community Fund Advisory Board chair (608-624-3409 or [email protected]).

Those persons, businesses and/or organizations being honored in their respective categories include:

  • Above & Beyond Award – to Dr. Robert Horwich (posthumously)
  • Outstanding Youth Leadership Award – to Steven Ronnfeldt
  • Tourism Award – to Driftless Wisconsin/Eric Frydenlund
  • Leadership and Service Awards – to Peggy Gallagher and to Bonnie Young
  • Educational Leadership Award – to Harriet Behar

Dr. Jo Arney, associate professor at UW-La Crosse and author, is the featured speaker.  A student music ensemble from the Prairie du Chien School will provide music during the social hour.  Sponsors include BAPI, Community Development Alternatives, the Crawford County Economic Development Corporation, Kickapoo Culinary Center, the Marketplace, Nelson True Value, the Orchard Ridge Association, Peoples State Bank, Royal Bank-Gays Mills and Scenic Rivers Energy Cooperative.  If you are interested in becoming a sponsor, contact Sharon Murphy (608-624-3409).

The Crawford County Community Fund, a component of the Community Foundation of Southern Wisconsin, was established in 2008.  The Fund currently holds an endowment of nearly $120,000.  Community members, organizations and businesses may make donations to the Crawford County Community Fund by sending a check to Crawford County Community Fund, PO Box 13, Seneca, Wisconsin 54654-0013.   Donations are tax deductible, to the limits of the law.  For more information, contact Sharon Murphy, Crawford County Community Fund chairperson at (608) 624-3409 or Barb Daus, donor services representative with the Community Foundation of Southern Wisconsin, at (608)778-3344 or [email protected]