Date: April 14th, 2016

Crawford County Community Fund Announces 2016 Leadership Award Recipients

Eight awards will be presented at the 6th Annual Crawford County Leadership Awards program, hosted by the Crawford County Community Fund.  The event, honoring the awardees, will be held on Thursday, April 21, 2016, in the Village of Wauzeka at Century Hall. It will begin with an hors d’oeuvre reception at 6 p.m., followed by the program at 6:30 p.m. The public is encouraged to attend but must RSVP by Friday, April 15, 2016 to Sharon Murphy, Crawford County Community Fund Advisory Board chair (608-624-3409 or [email protected]).

Those persons, businesses and/or organizations being honored in their respective categories include:

  • Business Development Awards – to Robert McDonald and to Driftless Organics
  • Above & Beyond Awards – to Craig and Julie Bell and to the Kickapoo Cultural Exchange
  • Outstanding Youth Leadership Award – to Jadyn Sander
  • Tourism Award – to the Gays Mills Orchard Ridge Association
  • Leadership and Service Award – to St Peter Evangelical Lutheran Church “Come for Supper”
  • Educational Leadership Award – Russell Gilbert

Dr. Jason Wood, president of Southwest Wisconsin Technical College, is the featured speaker. A student music ensemble from the North Crawford School will provide music during the social hour. Sponsors include BAPI, the Crawford County Economic Development Corporation, Howe Printing Company and the Courier Press, JB Shrimp Farm, Kickapoo Culinary Center, the Orchard Ridge Association, Peoples State Bank – Soldiers Grove, River Bank – Ferryville, Royal Bank- Gays Mills, and Scenic Rivers Energy Cooperative. If you are interested in becoming a sponsor, contact Sharon Murphy (608-624-3409).

The Crawford County Community Fund, a component of the Community Foundation of Southern Wisconsin, was established in 2008. The Fund currently holds an endowment of over $102,000. Community members, organizations and businesses may make donations to the Crawford County Community Fund by sending a check to Crawford County Community Fund, PO Box 13, Seneca, Wisconsin 54654-0013.   Donations are tax deductible, to the limits of the law.  For more information, contact Sharon Murphy, Crawford County Community Fund chairperson at (608) 624-3409 or Barb Daus, donor services representative with the Community Foundation of Southern Wisconsin, at (608)778-3344 or [email protected].