Date: June 19th, 2017

Annual 5th Grade Elizabeth Summers Academic Achievement Awards presented at Iowa-Grant

Seven Iowa-Grant Middle School students were recently presented certificates and monetary awards made possible through a charitable bequest from the estate of Elizabeth J. Summers.

2017 Elizabeth Summers Academic Achievement Awards Front Row (l-r): Recipients Rylee Stecklein, Madisen Crow, Landon Wetzel, Sophie Volenec, Adriana Jelle, Kaden Lindner, & Conner Dowell. Second row (l-r): Kyle Reimenapp (IG 5th grade teacher), Paulette DiVall (IGEF Advisory Board Chair), Jessica Sigg (IG 5th grade teacher).

The Elizabeth J. Summers Elementary Academic Achievement Awards were presented through a partnership of the Iowa-Grant School District, the Iowa-Grant Educational Foundation (IGEF), and the Community Foundation of Southern Wisconsin.

The students earned the award as fifth graders, during the 2016-2017 academic year. They were selected for being in the top 10% of their class as determined by their performance on standardized tests and on the recommendation of their teachers.

The recipients include Madisen Crow, Conner Dowell, Adriana Jelle, Kaden Lindner, Rylee Stecklein, Sophie Volenec, and Landon Wetzel.

Iowa-Grant School was contacted in 2010 by Fennimore Attorney David Kurth, representing the Summers estate. He shared the news of a bequest of $30,000, given by Elizabeth Summers in honor of her older twin sisters who were rural school teachers.  Josephine and Genevieve Kalile attended the Normal School in Platteville and taught in Boscobel, Mount Hope, Wingville and Castle Rock and in Boscobel, Anderson Mills, Beaver Dam and Mt. Horeb, respectively.  In her Trust documents, Ms. Summers specified that the monies available annually were to be used for academic awards for outstanding 5th grade students. The Iowa Grant School Board directed that the funds be administered by the Iowa-Grant Educational Foundation (IGEF), a component of the Community Foundation of Southern Wisconsin.

In announcing the awards, Paulette Divall, chair of the Iowa-Grant Educational Foundation, noted, “We all know that you have worked hard to achieve this award. Awards just do not happen without plenty of hard work. Sometimes you probably have given up some other fun activity to spend extra time studying. We are sure that you parents, teachers, siblings & friends are all very proud of you. The Elizabeth Summers award was established to instill a sense of accomplishment in our 5th grade students. It is important that you realize how important it is to study and work hard to achieve your goals. This is a very good start in establishing a good educational plan and prepare you for future challenges. We all hope that you continue to work hard.”

The Iowa-Grant Educational Foundation, a component of the Community Foundation of Southern Wisconsin, was established in 2000.  Its mission is to build an endowment that provides private resources for the support of the Iowa-Grant School District.  The Foundation’s work includes providing scholarships to graduating seniors and making grants in support of innovative and creative educational programming that is beyond the boundaries of the Iowa-Grant School District budget.  For more information or to make a donation to the Foundation contact IGEF advisory board chair Paulette DiVall ([email protected]) or CFSW Donor Services Representative Barb Daus ([email protected] or 608-778-3344).  Donations to the Foundation can be sent to the Iowa-Grant Educational Foundation, PO Box 124, Livingston, WI 53554 or can be made online at